No Daily Testing ? Newbie here.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• No Daily Testing ? Newbie here.

Wow, so confused . My dog was just diagnosed on June 23rd, 2010. Her BS at the vet's was 549. He sent her home on 4 units twice daily of Novolin 100 and will retest in 3 weeks. He never mentioned anything about daily BS checks done by me. Is that standard protocol for all dogs or just some circumstances ? I am to monitor her food and water intake and that's about all, other than the injections. I myself am diabetic with diet controlling it and I have a check up every 3 months. I do not need to monitor my BS daily as of yet. Can dogs be watched like this ? My husband says this is my fault as she is a chubby dog. He feels that I am obsessing over her if I do daily monitoring when the vet never told me to.

Re: No Daily Testing ? Newbie here.

Hi and Welcome!

There is a lot of variation in how much testing people do and whether they test at all. Some test just occasionally or to do a serial blood glucose curve. Some test weekly, some daily, some multiple times a day.

I personally loved home testing - it gave me so much better information. Dogs are akin to Type 1 insulin-dependent diabetics and can be getting too much insulin, be getting too little insulin, or can have a poor food/insulin balance that leaves their blood sugar high some parts of the day and low others. You can't tell much about those kinds of problems going by clinical signs alone.

But it is very common for vets not to suggest home testing. Most of us just did it anyway, figuring more knowledge is better.

There have been a few people, not many, who got obsessed with blood glucose numbers. It is hard for seriously Type A people because blood sugar is not very tidy. Lots of variation from day to day.

Please tell us more about your dog!

Sounds like she's small as she's starting on a small dose.