Hattie passed away March 11, 2013

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hattie passed away March 11, 2013

My dog was just diagnosed with diabetes. She is 6 years old and weighs 30 pounds. Hattie is a Rat Terrier I rescued from adopt a pet in Tennessee.. I feel so bad.. She is on 10ml of insulin one time a day..I feed her at 7 in the morning and then give her her shot.. I don't know what to really feed her!!!Can she have any snacks??? How often do I feed her?? And what??? I am so confused!!!!Thanks for any help.. I really need it!

Re: Dog just diagnosed with diabetes and I am afraid!

Hi i have a pug that was just dx with diabetes in December...im no expert but am here for help as well!! all of these people are wonderful and have soo many tips and some great encouragement.....Keep your head up....i know how it feels i was TERRIFIED...but am getting more confident each day... my pug is not yet regulated it can be a long road but as long as you have help and love for your special friend it will all turn out!!

I feed my pug 2x a day and give him 10 units after each meal!

Good Luck and WElcome!!

Comment

Hi and Welcome to you!

There are a lot of great people here who can help. Let me ask a few questions to help us better help you.

- Was her starting dose 10 units once a day? or did the vet work up to that point?

At 30 pounds, I would expect Hattie to start around 6 or 7 units perhaps (which is 20-25% of her body weight). Usually this is done with twice daily dosing, 12 hours apart, if your vet is using NPH insulin.

- What type of insulin is Hattie on?

- What was her blood sugar at diagnosis?

- What is she currently eating?

- What time do you feed her in the evening?

- Does the vet want to see her back soon for a curve? (This is where blood sugar is taken before food/insulin then every 2 hours until next shot time, which is usually at 12 hours, to see how well her food/insulin are working together)