Needle gauge...does it matter?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Needle gauge...does it matter?

I've been using 31 gauge needles for the 2+ years we've been doing insulin shots and I notice I accidentally bought 30 gauge last night. I forgot the bring the empty bag like I always do and saw "purple box" and thought it was right.

Everything else is the same as usual (short needle, u100, capacity, etc.). Is this a big deal? Or should I go back and exchange it for 31? My understanding is it is just a slightly "thicker" needle, but other than potential comfort issues, I'm not sure why I'd want 31 over 30. Thanks.

Re: Needle gauge...does it matter?

Originally posted by Jinxie View Post
    I've been using 31 gauge needles for the 2+ years we've been doing insulin shots and I notice I accidentally bought 30 gauge last night. I forgot the bring the empty bag like I always do and saw "purple box" and thought it was right.

Everything else is the same as usual (short needle, u100, capacity, etc.). Is this a big deal? Or should I go back and exchange it for 31? My understanding is it is just a slightly "thicker" needle, but other than potential comfort issues, I'm not sure why I'd want 31 over 30. Thanks.
    Annie doesn't seem to be able to tell the difference. We also usually get the 31 gauge, but every once in a while we bring home the 30s. 31 is slightly thinner than the 30s, and I THINK I sometimes slightly bend the 31s, but have never had any real problem.

Craig
    Annie was an 18 pound Lhasa Apso that crossed the rainbow bridge on 10-5-17. She was nearly 17 years old and diabetic for 9½ years.

Comment

30 should be fine. I use 31 gauge now,but have used 30 with no problem..