Update, and what do you think?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Update, and what do you think?

Hello! Love the support I see on this board!

My 7 year old, 30 lb cockapoo, Cookie, was panting and peeing and suddenly incontinent. Took her to the vet, no big surprise that she's diabetic. I'm a nurse and worked for a time as a diabetes educator, so I thought I'd be pretty comfortable with this.

They started her on a 5 u dose of Novolin N twice a day, but did not suggest a diet change. She's eating Science Diet for sensitive stomachs. I wasn't thrilled with her numbers after a couple days, so I upped her insulin dose to 6 u. I did a curve on her over the weekend, and her blood glucose was all over the place in the 200-low 300's with no actual CURVE, no rhyme or reason. No peak, no trough, no nadir, just random screwy numbers.

I upped her dose to 7 u yesterday, 6:30 am and 6:30 pm, with her injections immediately after she eats.

She's been consistently high first thing in the morning- around 300 on 5 and 6 U, but this morning after 7 u last night she was 382! What's up with that?

I get home from work at 2:30, and her sugar is always around 300. By dinner at 6:30, though, where you'd think the Novolin H would be wearing off, she's got the lowest blood sugar readings at 176-135.

To complicate the issue, she also MIGHT have Cushing's.

Any thoughts? Is the food too carby? It's only been a week, am I being impatient?

I'm used to hanging a bag of IV fluid and insulin and adjusting the rate every hour. I'm used to kids with insulin pumps and continuous blood glucose montitors! I'm used to dosing type 2 diabetics with a long acting and then covering them with fast acting insulins at meals. This has thrown me for such a loop!
    HELP!
    Jenn

Re: New diagnosis, help!

hi and welcome

you might have to throw out what you know with human diabetes and how its treated

A dogs metabolism is quite different than humans