Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New and I think I'm giving too much Vetsulin

HI there

My 12 yr old yellow lab Kayla (74lbs) was just diagnosed Thursday with Diabetes. They wanted me to come in right away to show me how to give her the insulin shots. The vet tech told me to give her 17units every 12 hours. Showed me how and all... and stressed that I had to do it close to every 12 hours. I have been doing so since Friday but I just happened to read the bottle in detail and it says 17units every 24 hours. I'm kind of freaking out because I think I'm giving her too much! I called the emergency vet and they said I should go with what the vet tech said and not what's on the bottle. I need advice for tomorrow as my vet isn't opened till Monday. Should I continue with this dosage or should I start cutting it in half every 12 hours? I'm very new to this and don't want to hurt my dog....

Thanks ahead of time..

Jennifer

Re: New and I think I'm giving too much Vetsulin

Welcome to the forum!
    Only have a second, but wanted to answer your question. Most of the insulins used with our pups are given every 12 hours. Vetsulin / Caninsulin is sometimes tried for 24 hours, but almost never lasts that long so it is usually best to start on 12 hour dosing. What type of insulin are you using?

Craig
    Annie was an 18 pound Lhasa Apso that crossed the rainbow bridge on 10-5-17. She was nearly 17 years old and diabetic for 9½ years.

Comment

Jennifer,