Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New and Questions about Maggie

Hello all!

I am so excited to find this forum. My sweet Maggie (8 year old yorkie) was just diagnosed with Diabetes and it’s been a lot to take in/emotional week. I need some advice and reassurance. Maggie weighs about 17 lbs and last August, we had a scary flare up of acute pancreatitis, which has lead to her diabetic diagnosis. I spoke with the vet and we’re now on Vetsulin 2.5 units twice a day. We currently feed her “Fromm—Senior and low activity dry food”, because it’s a low-fat diet to prevent the pancreatitis. We have 3 dogs, so feeding time is obviously chaotic. Maggie is a grazer. What can I do do to ensure that she eats her full meal without breaking the bank but keeping her healthy? I work 8 hour shifts in a hospital and it’s difficult to come home at my 30 min lunch break. Is this too long to have her go without eating?

I am a nurse so I realize I may be making this more difficult than it should be but I’m not a vet and dogs are much different than humans lol. My vet didn’t suggest a glucometer and that was weird to me. She just said to bring Maggie back into the vet in 2 weeks. Should I buy a glucometer? How often do I check it if so?

My last question is, we’re on the first week of the two times a day insulin injections and tonight at dinner, I gave Maggie her insulin and within 15 mins, she was pretty tired. Easy to arouse but like seemed really tired & didn’t want to move much. Should I be concerned? I would imagine this is a huge adjustment for her. Oh and she has a UTI so she’s on antibiotics.

Please help this worried momma! Thanks guys
    Katie

Ps am I crazy to have set up a camera to watch her throughout the day? Or is this too much?

Re: New member looking for advice

hi and welcome to you and your Maggie.

anything we can do to help us in their diabetic journey is worth doing!!

yes i.d install surveillance.

just reading your post, i.ll be right back.